Projects
Open laboratory
International scientific-educational campaign on the verification of scientific literacy

About the «Open laboratory» project

Open laboratory

Held annually since 2017. In 2018, the event was held in several countries around the world and throughout Russia: from the village of Achaivayam in Kamchatka to the city of Apatity in the Murmansk region.

ANO “Laboratory”, organizing the action, is one of the philanthropic projects of Roman Avdeev. The mission of the organization is to support the interest of children and adults to gain new knowledge and engage in the fascinating world of science.

In 2018, “Laba” was held on a large scale in major cities with major academic centers. In Krasnoyarsk, Nizhny Novgorod, St. Petersburg, Rostov-on-don more than a thousand people participated in each. And in Yekaterinburg and Sverdlovsk region and does more than 2 thousand people.

Official website of the event: openlaba.com

In 2018, the ANO “Laboratory for Educational Projects” launched the Laba.media publication. It is in the format of tests, analyzes and video talks about how people and the world around are arranged from the point of view of the natural sciences. “Laba” does not use the advice of sofa experts. The publication tracks the agenda and, with the help of specialists, understands the most important and close to human topics: medicine and health, climate and ecology, chemistry and brain, death and aging, sex and food. The only boundaries of our search – the person and what surrounds him.

Official website of the publication: laba.media

Verification of scientific literacy

As all was

22
APR 2017
FIRST ACTION
34
CITIES WITH
STOCK EXCHANGES THE SHARES
45
MINUTES FOR
ALL QUESTIONS
36
JOBS

The theme of the first «All-Russian laboratory» was «non-Child questions» about how the world works. «Laboratory» tested the basic knowledge of physics, chemistry, biology, geography, biology and anthropology. The questions were not designed to check the facts but to cope with the tasks using the logic, erudition, common sense and residual knowledge from the school curriculum.

During the test participants of the action had 45 minutes for all questions. And immediately after that the most important thing began: a detailed analysis of each job with «Avlabari». These are leading scientists and scientific communicators. In total there were 36 tasks in «Laboratory».

Summarize of Laba 2019

30
COUNTRIES OF THE WORLD
120
CITIES OF RUSSIA
100
THOUSAND PARTICIPANTS WORLDWIDE

Traditionally, the action takes place on the Day of Russian Science. In 2019, it was held in more than 300 sites in Russia and 30 countries of the world: in universities, libraries, museums and more original sites. For example, on the atomic icebreaker “Lenin” in Murmansk and in one of the pubs of the Novosibirsk Academgorodok.

“Laba” was the first large-scale event in celebration of the International Year of the Periodic Table of Mendeleev.

The participants of the action were waiting for 25 questions from all areas of natural science and engineering knowledge. According to preliminary data, the most difficult were the questions from the “Reniks” column, which concerns scientific myths and everyday misconceptions. “Laboratory technicians” were asked to answer “yes” or “no” to 12 statements.

Here are the top 5 most difficult questions

– Can a person live with one hemisphere of the brain?
– Will you come to the most northern point of the Earth, walking along the red arrow of the compass?
– Does heat always emit when erasing information?
– Is day always equal to night at the equator?
– She-cats can be tricolor but not he-cats?

In February 2019, “Open Laboratory” received the award “For Fidelity to Science”, which is conducted by the Ministry of Science and Higher Education of the Russian Federation, the Ministry of Education of the Russian Federation, the Russian Academy of Sciences and Moscow State University. The organizers of the All-Russian Prize note that in three years the action has become the largest event to test the scientific literacy of the population.

Проекты
Открытая лабораторная
Международная научно-просветительская акция по проверке научной грамотности

О проекте «Открытая лабораторная»

Открытая лабораторная

Проходит ежегодно с 2017 года. В 2018 году акция прошла в нескольких странах по всему миру и по всей России: от села Ачайваям на Камчатке до города Апатиты в Мурманской области.

АНО «Лаборатория просветительских проектов», организующая акцию, является одним из филантропических проектов Романа Авдеева. Миссия организации — поддержать интерес детей и взрослых к получению новых знаний и вовлечь в увлекательный мир науки.

В 2018 году «Лаба» наиболее масштабно прошла в крупных городах с серьезными академическими центрами. В Красноярске, Нижнем Новгороде, Петербурге, Ростове-на-Дону поучаствовало более тысячи человек в каждом. А в Екатеринбурге и Свердловской области и вовсе более 2 тысяч человек.

Официальный сайт акции: openlaba.com

В 2018 году АНО «Лаборатория просветительских проектов» запустило издание Laba.media. Оно в формате тестов, разборов и видео рассказывает о том, как устроены человек и окружающий мир с точки зрения естественных наук. «Лаба» не пользуется советами диванных экспертов. Издание отслеживает повестку и при помощи специалистов разбирается в самых важных и близких для человека темах: медицина и здоровье, климат и экология, химия и мозг, смерть и старение, секс и еда. Единственные рамки наших поисков – человек и то, что его окружает.

Официальный сайт издания: laba.media

Проверка научной грамотности

Как все начиналось

22
апреля 2017
первая акция
34
города с
площадками акции
45
минут на все
вопросы
36
заданий

Темой первой «Всероссийской Лабораторной» были «Недетские вопросы» о том, как устроен мир. «Лабораторная» проверила знания основ физики, химии, биологии, географии, биологии и антропологии. Вопросы были рассчитаны не на проверку фактов: справиться с заданиями больше помогали логика, эрудиция, здравый смысл и остаточные знания из школьной программы.

У «лаборантов» – участников акции – было 45 минут на все вопросы. А сразу после начиналось самое важное – подробный разбор каждого задания вместе с «завлабами» – ведущими учеными и популяризаторами науки. Всего в «Лабораторной» было 36 заданий.

Итоги Лабы 2019

30
стран мира
120
городов России
100
тысяч участников по всему миру

Традиционно акция проходит в День российской науки. В 2019 году она прошла более чем на 300 площадках в России и 30 странах мира: в университетах, библиотеках, музеях и более оригинальных площадках. Например, на атомном ледоколе “Ленин” в Мурманске и в одном из пабов новосибирского академгородка.

“Лаба” стала первым масштабным событием в рамках празднования Международного года периодической таблицы Менделеева.

Участников акции ждали 25 вопросов из всех областей естественно-научных и инженерно-технических знаний. По предварительным данным, наиболее сложными оказались вопросы из рубрики “Реникса”, которая касается научных мифов и житейских заблуждений. “Лаборантам” предлагалось ответить “да” или “нет” на 12 утверждений.

Вот ТОП-5 самых сложных вопросов

— Может ли человек жить с одним полушарием мозга?
— Придешь ли ты в самую северную точку Земли, идя по красной стрелке компаса?
— Всегда ли выделяется тепло при стирании информации?
— Всегда ли день равен ночи на экваторе?
— Трехцветными могут быть кошки, но не коты?

В феврале 2019 года «Открытая лабораторная» получила премию «За верность науке», которую проводит Министерство науки и высшего образования РФ, Министерство просвещения РФ, Российская академия наук и МГУ. Организаторы Всероссийской премии отмечают, что за три года акция стала самым крупным мероприятием по проверке научной грамотности населения.